Water Is My Peace

“Nature tops the list of potential tranquilizers and stress reducers. The mere sound of moving water has been shown to lower blood pressure.”Patch Adams

I was born in Miami, Florida.  I grew up around the Atlantic Ocean and more swimming pools than I can count.  However, I have lived in Rock Hill, South Carolina for the past 25 years. This, to me, is my hometown. This has been my home for almost half of my life, and I love it here.  The people, the hills, and the change of seasons.  But even now, what calms me the most are the sights and sounds of water.  Water is my peace.

There is a water fountain at our City Hall which I love to sit and listen to.  It looks like a 2-tiered, old green bowl, with little pebble chips in it. It is  like a timeless weathered and beloved statue.  I was watching and listening to the water flowing from the fountain today, and felt that peaceful, hometown feeling I get watching water fall like the sound of rain.

city-hall-clock-and-fountain
City Hall Clock and Fountain
city-hall-fountain-body-and-water
Body of Fountain
city-hall-fountain-water-close-up
Precious flowing water….without you we are nothing!

Just looking at a photo of water brings me a comfort I cannot describe.

Happy Trails,

Denise

via Photo Challenge: H2O

Author: Earth Bound Traveler

Denise Ratcliffe was born and raised in Miami, Florida. She currently lives near Charlotte, North Carolina with her teenage son. She also has 2 adult daughters and 4 grandchildren. Denise has always enjoyed writing and loves to travel to new places.

Leave a Reply

